Board of Trustees

The St. Stephen’s Episcopal School Board of Trustees has the ultimate responsibility for the institution. School heads and trustees come and go; only the Board is permanent. The Board is responsible for upholding the integrity of the school, the standing and reputation built by its founders and by those who have labored over the years. The Board holds in trust the school’s future as well as its present; the Board’s collective judgment will affect how St. Stephen’s can serve constituencies to come. Effective trusteeship is both deeply challenging and deeply rewarding.

St. Stephen’s ethos is its mission and its characteristic spirit. This combination is what guides the Board as it plans educationally and financially, makes policies, and assesses the school’s performance. It is also true that the school is always in flux; it cannot rest. It must adapt to the changing world, and the Board should anticipate the changes, using them as opportunities to enhance the school. The working relationship between the Board, especially the Board president, and the head of the school is a partnership of trust and mutual endeavor. Legally, the Board is responsible for the school and selects and evaluates the head as the educational leader and administrator of the school.

Board Members

List of 28 items.

  • Rt. Rev. Kai Ryan

    The Rt. Rev. Kathryn "Kai" Ryan

    Bishop Suffragan, Diocese of Texas, Ex Officio
    Read More
  • Jennifer Stayton '85

    Jennifer Stayton '85

    Executive Chair
    Read More
  • Chris Oddo

    Christopher J. (Chris) Oddo

    Vice Chair
    P ’25, ’24
    Read More
  • Elizabeth (Beth) Collum Ozmun

    Elizabeth (Beth) Ozmun

    Chancellor, Ex Officio
    P ’09
    Read More
  • Julie Buckthal Person '71

    Julie Buckthal Person '71

    Governance Chair 
    P ’01, ’99
    Read More
  • Rosa Lockett McCormick '93

    Rosa Lockett McCormick '93

    Treasurer, Finance Chair, Audit Chair, Retirement Chair
    P ’28, ’25
  • Deborah Gonzalez

    Deborah (Debbie) Gonzalez

    Advancement Chair
    P ’24, ’21, ’20
    Read More
  • David Middleton

    David Middleton

    Campus Chair
    P ’28, ’25 ’24
    Read More
  • The Rev. Brin Bon

    The Rev. Brin Bon

    Read More
  • Kevin Brown

    P ’25
    Read More
  • Gwen Chance

  • Greg Clay

     P ’26,’23
  • David Gonzalez

    David M. Gonzalez

    Read More
  • Chris Gunnin Head of School

    Chris Gunnin

    Head of School, Ex Officio
    P ’30, ’24, ’22
    Read More
  • The Rev. Madeline Shelton Hawley

    Read More
  • Jordan Jaffe '02

    Jordan Jaffe '02

    P ’30
    Read More
  • Mike Kadyan

    Mike Kadyan

    P ’25, ’24, ’22
    Read More
  • Renee Lafair

    Renee Lafair

    P ’19, ’14, ’14
    Read More
  • Katherine Leigh

    Katherine Leigh

    Parents' Association President, Ex Officio
    P ’28, ’26
    Read More
  • Shannon Powers '96

    Spartan Alumni Association President, Ex Officio
  • The Rev. Al Rodriguez

    Read More
  • Evan Smith

    Evan Smith

    P ’19, ’15
    Read More
  • Yasmine Smith '12

    Yasmine Smith '12

    Read More
  • Martin Taylor

    Martin Taylor

    P ’22, ’19, ’19
    Read More
  • Angela Hall Watkins

    P ’18
    Read More
  • Temple Webber, III

    Read More
  • Dr. Leslie Wells

    Dr. Leslie Wells

    P ’26, ’22
    Read More
  • Michael Ybarra '98

    Read More
Address: 6500 St. Stephen's Dr., Austin, TX 78746
Phone: (512) 327-1213