National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists are Announced

Today the National Merit Scholarship Corporation released the names of more than 16,000 students in the 69th annual National Merit Scholarship Program including nine St. Stephen’s scholars.

Congratulations goes to Seongwon “Chris” Jang ‘24, Amanda Bell ‘24, Megal Alla ‘24, Lucas Elkins ‘24, Jorik Dammann ‘24, Avery Griffin ‘24, Zach Geller ‘24, Christopher Aung ‘24, and Nina Kannan ‘24.

These academically talented students have the opportunity to compete for more than 7,000 scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. In order to be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition and Finalists who receive an award will be announced beginning in March 2024.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition among high school students for recognition and college scholarships that began in 1955. The program is conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®), a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance. United States high school students enter the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which serves as an initial screen of over 1.3 million entrants each year, and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

To learn more about the National Merit Scholarship program, click here.
Address: 6500 St. Stephen's Dr., Austin, TX 78746
Phone: (512) 327-1213